In Defense of the Overshare

I understand that people get uncomfortable with overshare.  And TMI.  And other things that they consider “taboo” to discuss in polite company.  But I’m of the opinion that there is information that should be talked about more in our society, not less.  Information that can save people’s lives, reduce misunderstandings, and promote greater public health.

So.  If you biologically have womanly parts, or you care for someone who biologically has womanly parts, you (or they) should get regular pap smears.  Every year.  There are so many health problems that you can catch if you just get checked regularly.  If you don’t have health insurance, check for free women’s health clinics in your area.  Or check out your local Planned Parenthood.

I bring this up, because after 3 pap smears in my life, I had an abnormal one.  Luckily, I have a fabulous doctor who called me to give me the results, and spent 45 minutes explaining that 99% of the time, abnormal paps don’t mean anything.  We set up my appointment for today, where I had a colposcopy, which is apparently a fancy word for a microscope that can look at your cervix.  They saw a few areas of concern, and took a few biopsies.  The whole thing kind of sucked, honestly, as getting poked in the cervix is wont to, but Vicodin and Leo distracting me worked out pretty well.  I go back in 2 weeks for the results.

I say this not as a ploy for sympathy, or to overshare, but to put some more information out there.  Women need to know that this happens to other women, and that it’s a fabulous idea to get checked out every year.  And we all need to know that we’re not alone, especially in the scary world of medical procedures.

Information = good.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

