Santa Monica Sick Day

Even though I was felled by a cold on Friday, Leo drove me into Santa Monica to pick up my packet for She Runs LA. I was able to do the event thanks to a giveaway by the Left Coast Contessa! Although I haven’t yet seen her on the UCLA campus, maybe someday I will!

Pickup at the Santa Monica Nike store went great, everyone was very organized and I got some cool freebies along with my “race” shirt.

She Runs LA pink tank, grape Vitamin Water lip gloss, S'mores Luna Bar, Keep Me Clean wipes

She Runs LA entry swag!

I might have gotten a shirt that’s too big…oh well.

Nike was cool enough to give me an extra ticket, which means Leo can come along for the party (since he’s going to do the run with me as well, it seemed only logical). I’m really looking forward to the event, although I gotta say, Nike loses major points with me for headlining Mike Posner at the event. Am I the only person who thinks “Cooler Than Me” is horribly misogynistic and generally kinda douchey?

After packet pick-up, we took a stroll down the 3rd street promenade. It was a gorgeous day out, and I was kicking myself for not bringing the camera along. We stopped to enjoy a street performer’s show (pretty sure it was this guy, different hair though) which was entertaining. The whole promenade was full of performers, about 3 per block. Some were good, some were ok, and some were…par for the street performing course. I was lucky to be there with a former street performer, who kept an eye on my purse after seeing a pickpocket working the crowd.

We hit up a Coffee Bean for some iced tea, and on the way back to the car we spotted Penzeys Spices and knew we had to go in. It was AMAZING. Best prices I’ve ever seen on spices, and they had big jars of everything that you could smell. We walked out with sea salt, sage, ancho chili powder, cayenne pepper and california basil, and will definitely be coming back.

Leo went out for a run this afternoon, sadly I’m still not feeling well enough to join him. This week has been kind of a wash exercise-wise, but after being extremely consistent for the last 4 weeks, I’m surprisingly ok with it.

Crossing my fingers for sunny skies and a Farmer’s Market visit tomorrow!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Santa Monica Sick Day

  1. Thanks for blogging about it! I’ll keep my eyes peeled for you on campus!

Leave a Reply

