2012: Day One

They say (the ubiquitous they who populate our cultural headspace with legend) that whatever you are doing New Year’s Day is what the rest of your year will be like. In that case, in 2012, I will apparently be rising obscenely early, running, reading funny books, and driving in LA. Woo New Year!

My husband started what I’m calling his “January Experiment” today. He’s planning to run 366K in January to raise money for Livestrong and awareness for cancer prevention and health. He’s also doing it all wearing Loudmouth clothing. You can see his adventures at http://runningla.wordpress.com. This morning was the beginning, with a half marathon event at Huntington Beach.

I preferred to start off my New Year with something slightly less athletic (although I’m planning on running sprints later today) and opted to begin my New Year by reading Tina Fey’s Bossypants on my Kindle in the car. I love modern electronic devices.

I’m doing my own running adventure this year, by participating in the 12athon (https://www.facebook.com/Virtual12athon), wherein you run 12 miles on the 12th of every month (with varying challenges as you choose, to add points). Mostly because I think it will be fun, and add a slightly insane twist to my year.

January is going to be pretty insane, with running events almost every weekend (sometimes both days in a weekend), winter quarter starting, and the 12athon thrown in for good measure. But I think it’s going to be a great year.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

